Fire Show

IMG_2945FIRE SHOW!

You might have heard of fire shows. Traveling during my holidays in Thailand I stumbled upon some wonderful fire shows. I hadn’t remembered seeing much of them back home, maybe I just hadn’t been to the right places for it. I saw my first proper show in Krabi at Railey Beach. They have them on every island, probably.  They had a show where I went to visit in Koh Lipe too.  In Krabi they had over five guys ‘fire dancing’ at this outdoor bar every night. I, like most farang tourists, thought it was totally awesome. I mean, look:

They are on top of each other!

They are on top of each other!

One guy was twirling his fire sticks blindfolded.

One guy was twirling his fire sticks blindfolded.

They even had a cigarette lighting trick.

They even had a cigarette lighting trick

I just thought it was the coolest thing and immediately wanted to learn. A Thai friend of mine actually did try to teach me. Notoriously clumsy, learning to spin fire may not be the best decision for me. We didn’t light it, of course. I would have set myself on fire. I got a few of the moves down fairly well though for only practicing a couple times. Then my friend tossed the second stick at me and told me: OK now do two. Me: Ha! What? I could barely figure out the moves using both hands on just one. Upon returning home, I still want to work on this. I still think it’s awesome. I enjoy fire.

Pictured: Badassery.

IMG_3786

IMG_3606IMG_3620

IMG_2805

So, if you visit the islands, check out a fire show!  It’s a ton of fun.

Leave a Reply

